The Raq Rega E-Mail Project Issue 1

The Territories: Who "Owns" Them?

The following is an excerpt from The Jerusalem Post Online, Jan. 12, 2004, Lay Off the Fence, By Shlomo Slonim, a professor at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.*

The [United Nations] General Assembly partition resolution of November 29, 1947 envisioned the creation of three separate entities when the British Mandate terminated: a Jewish state, an Arab state, and an internationalized Jerusalem.

When that mandate ended on May 15, 1948, only one of the three projected entities – Israel – emerged. On that date, in clear violation of the assembly
resolution and of general international law, five Arab countries invaded Israel in an attempt to destroy the nascent Jewish state. At war's end, Israel survived, the Gaza Strip [part of the old Mandate, i.e., Palestine] came under Egyptian [i.e., foreign, non-Palestinian] control, and the West Bank [part of the old Mandate, i.e., Palestine], including east Jerusalem, came under Jordanian [i.e., foreign, non-Palestinian] control.

Only Britain and Pakistan recognized Jordan's title to the West Bank. 

You can join this discussion by participating in our blog at

If you wish to begin receiving Raq Regas, please send us an e-mail at with your name and e-mail address